Honda Civic Forums - 7thGenHonda banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got an 01 civic Dx and I've been thinkin about converting my rear drums to disc. I've seen the threads and I know it is possible with the rear brake assembly from an 02-03 civic si. However, I got a salvage rsx type s as a freebee and the rear dsc assembly is intact. Is it possible to swap in the type s brake assembly or will major modifications be involved?

·
I'm not not licking toads
599 Posts
:O How did you manage that frebee. :eek3:

From a quick Google read, I do not believe they will fit, but I am no expert.:dunno:

Good luck :tup:

·
Registered
6,991 Posts
the rsx is 5 lug. so unless you either want to do a 5 lug swap on all 4 wheels or have 4 lug in the front and 5 lug in the back, i wouldn't do it

·
Registered
140 Posts
I am trying to source some parts for this conversion.

I have found a wrecker with this available, am I going in the right direction?

[FONT=&quot]
My information shows most parts the same, but not all. The Control Arms on the EL are different then the SIR.
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Not sure about brake cables and lines.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Rear suspension assy (less struts) from the SIR are $300.00 each.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Same from the 01-02 EL is $250.00[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Can't say for sure that the brake lines are still intact, but if they are we would include them.[/FONT]

Thank you for your help.

·
Resident Photochopper
3,604 Posts
i believe you get better stopping power with the drum than disc on the rear. so no need to change it out, unless you just want it for the looks. you dont want it just for the looks do you?

·
Registered
140 Posts
I want it for looks and I have to get service done on the the rear drums as they are in bad shape. I thought I would kill 2 birds with one stone.

·
The Almighty
25,301 Posts
From my understanding this is totally possible to do. Only diff is that its 5 lug instead of 4.